From fork to spade

Each week, a student from NYU’s Urban Agriculture class will share their perspective. This week, Eléonore Buschinger trades in her eating utensils for garden tools.

Just like many of the students in the first-ever Intro to Urban Agriculture class at the NYU Urban Farm Lab, I am most familiar with forks for eating, not for digging.  I have enjoyed savoring tasty summer vegetables like eggplants, tomatoes, peppers, and herbs in my day, but this year I appreciated them even more because they were the fruit of my labor.

Right now at the farm we are busy double-digging beds and are preparing to plant winter vegetables and cover crops. Garden forks and spades are the only tools I will be using for now, but soon my stomach will reap the rewards of the all the good food that our class will grow.

Not only do I get to enjoy the bounty, but I have also learned that digging is actually a really fun activity. Each day is full of surprises.  You never know what your spade is going to bang into below the soil’s surface. It is like a treasure hunt.  Some days we find old knick-knacks, and other days we find gigantic stones like this one:

Image

This week we are going to get our winter garden planted. Who knows what I will find?  My fork and my stomach can’t wait to enjoy all the winter veggies!

Leave a Reply

